Top Ten States I’ve Visited

I’ve been very lucky over the years to visit many places in the United States. Between the road trips we took during my childhood to the fun places I’ve traveled working for Virgin America I’ve realized how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful, exciting country. With Spring Break here so unbelievably soon (seriously can you believe it’s already April? With our weather here in Washington it still doesn’t feel like it) and because it’s been a while since I’ve done a top ten, I thought why not share some of my experiences so maybe it will entice you to take a fun trip. Although there is no place like home. Washington is my home and always will be, nothing beats its beauty or people.

10. North Dakota – So amazing, Mt. Rushmore was such a life changing experience. When they lit those lights and passed the flag through all of those soldiers hands I lost it. It was touching and made me appreciate what our country is and who made it that way.

9. New Mexico – The beauty of New Mexico is unparallelled. The landscape of red rock during a sunset is s breathtaking. Even during the massive thunderstorms I was completely taken back.

8. California – I know this is one of the states almost everyone has had the pleasure of visiting but there is a reason why. California is the stereotypical U.S. state from Sacramento to San Francisco to Los Angeles all great cities. With the culture, ocean, weather and of course Disneyland and Hollywood, who wouldn’t want to skip this state.

7. Texas – This is where my family is so it holds a special place in my heart. My mom and dad met and got married in Texas. The people are by far the friendliest no matter where you go and I don’t think I’ve ever seen more courteous drivers. I always look forward to visiting Texas and the weather doesn’t hurt.

Me at the Cheers!

6. Massachusetts – Boston is one of my favorite cities to visit. It was so full of history and with the city being so small and close together I literally walked from one end to the other. It was a bit chilly which was the only set back (and when I say a bit chilly I mean I could barely feel any of my body parts after our walk through the city). Something I could never do in Seattle because it is way to large and spread out. It was great and the nightlife was awesome!

5. Pennsylvania – This is where I want a second home. So quaint and colonial. I actually stood in the place where the U.S. Constitution was signed. I was taken back by the history. I never knew how much of our history started in Philadelphia. It was really cold when we were there in February (not sure why I visit the hot places in the summer and the cold places in the winter, not intentional) but so worth it.

4. Hawaii – I have never been to a more peaceful place. It’s miles away from everything and the people are so unbelievably friendly. I was told prices were really high there but I didn’t find that to be true at least not any more expensive than other tourist areas. I was lucky enough to see Hawaii from the local point of view with real Hawaiian beaches. It was beautiful and oh s perfectly warm, even in the rain.

3. Nevada – As a kid I wrote a story after visiting Reno with my parents that I wanted to live in Carson City. I look back now and am not sure why but I do know that Las Vegas is always the place we choose to vacation (I mean I’m going again at the end of the month). We’re not gamblers but the shows can’t be beat (still haven’t made it to New York yet so I’m sure that will change). The nightlife is great because we’re not always the oldest at a club at 33 and you can literally sit at the pool an entire day and not get bored. What more could you ask for?

My wedding in Key West

2. Louisiana – New Orleans was the most fun city I have ever been to. It would be number one if it wasn’t for the smell.The food was incomparable, the entertainment the best and the parties, wow! I didn’t have one drink there and had the time of my life.

1. Florida – My second home. Not my favorite place to live but I sure miss the weather and my friends. Plus the water was magical. Warm and so blue. Disneyworld was amazing, the Florida Keys were amazing, Miami (I don’t need to say much about Miami, you know) and St. Augustine, the oldest city in the country and my favorite city in Florida….you guessed it, amazing. It’s full of culture, history (can you tell I love history) and unbelievable architecture plus the original Ripley’s Believe It or Not is there. I think the Fountain of You would be my favorite if it actually worked, 😉

Leave a comment